Home>>China Travel Guide>>Suzhou Guide>>Tongli Bridge Town

Tongli Attractions

Three bridges indicate Taiping Bridge, Jili Bridge and Changqing Bridge which are arranged in a triangle at the convergences of three rivers, forming ring roads in the town. Tongli people like walking across the three bridges. If someone celebrates marriage, the celebration group will walk across the three bridges full of joy accompanied by hilarious drum music and fireworks, praying aloud, peace, auspiciousness and everlasting happiness!” and residents along the street will come out to view the occasion, extending their congratulations; if old people celebrate their 66-year-old birthday, they will certainly walk across the three bridges after lunch for auspiciousness. It is unknown to all when the custom of “walking across three bridges” started, but for Tongli people, three bridges symbolize auspiciousness and happiness.

Tuisi Garden was built from 1885 AD to 1887 AD. It is originally owned by Ren Lansheng. The name originates from “Be loyal to the emperor when serving the court and reflect upon oneself when retreating from the post” in Tso Chuan. Its designer Yuan Long took actions that suited the local circumstances of Jiangnan Region and finished the Garden in two years after elaborate design. The 9.8-mu Garden, simple and unsophisticated, quiet and elegant, is an area with typical architectural style of Jiangnan Garden in late Qing dynasty. Tuisi Garden boasts unique layout with a complete collection of pavilion, terrace, tower, porch, bridge, hall and house centered by pond as if these architectures are floating on it. The compact and natural layout, plants and sceneries of four seasons contribute to a clear, secluded and bright Tuisi Garden.

Tuisi Garden, with the characteristics of garden of Qing dynasty, is a classic work of Jiangnan classical garden. Chinese landscaper Chen Congzhou regards Tuisi Garden as “Waterside Garden” inspired by “The wise find pleasure in water; the virtuous find pleasure in hills” of Confucius. The profound cultural connotation of Tuisi Garden, together with the long history of Tongli, makes tourists fall into reverie and enlightenment. In 2001, Tuisi Garden was listed as world’s Cultural Heritage.

Jiayin Hall, established in 1912, is located in the front part of Youjia Lane in Zhuxing Street; it has four entrances and all the doors, windows and beams are well-carved. Its owner Liu Bingnan, original Beishe people, started oil mill in Luxu at the very beginning, and moved to Tongli to build luxurious residence which cost 20,000 grams silver after becoming rich. Liu Bingnan and the famous patriotic poet Liu Yazi are of the same clan.

The main architecture of Jiayin Hall, commonly referred to as “Gauze Cap Hall”, imitates the architectural style of Ming dynasty. It got such a name because the front beam is like the cap wing in Ming dynasty. The high and spacious court is solemn and grand. The symmetric two sides of five beams are carved with Eight Horses, and the two ends of beams are carved with Phoenix and Peony. Such patterns as Satisfaction and Destined to be selected are carved at the back of beams. What’s more rare is that the gauze cap wings (i.e. the front beam) are carved with eight pictures in Romance of Three Kingdoms including Meeting in Ancient Town, Three Big Persons (Liu Bei, Guan Yu and Zhang Fei) Fighting against Lv Bu, etc.. All the figures in these pictures are vividly portrayed.

Chongben Hall: Located on the northern side of Changqing Bridge in Fu Guan Street, Chongben Hall is built by water facing the south; the group of architectures develops in depth revolving around the axle wire, with five entrances including entrance hall, hall, front building, back building and kitchen. The one-mu Chongben Hall, in spite of its small amount of architectures, is laid out compactly and exquisitely. Various sculptures and carvings are the most attractive elements in Chongben Hall.

Pearl Tower:The story of Pearl Tower originated in Tongli and describes love between Fang Qing and Chen Cui’e. Chen Cui’e was loyal to love regardless of poverty, gave away tower, praying for marriage with Fang Qing. It is the common aspiration for Tongli people to rebuild the scenery so as to hand down this moving story forever. Ever since last year, Tongli Town has been investing over 20 million RMB to rebuild the scenery, and this renowned tale will be widely spread in Tongli and further to other places

Luoxing Islet is a sacred place with the combination of Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism, and is an islet floating on lake in the east of Tongli Town. Tourists only have to spend several minutes getting there by boat.

The historic records reveal that Luoxing Islet was originally built in Yuan dynasty and was rebuilt in the reign period of Emperor Guangxu of Qing dynasty; the place of interest in that period brought the old people in Tongli many beautiful memories.

Pine & Rock Enlightenment Garden, covering an area of 1,600 square meters, is elegant and quiet with flourishing grass and trees in it, and it is a good place for stone collection and stone appreciation that brings people to a different world.

Wujiang Xiaodian Lake Forest Park in Jiangsu Province is located in the northeast of Tongli Town in Wujiang, covering an area of around 4,000 mu (including water area of over 2,000 mu). It is a place with large area, rich verdurization and good ecology which is rarely seen in Jiangnan region. Some tourist and sightseeing resorts have been gradually formed including metasequoia forest, pond cypress forest, loquat garden, kapur garden, gingko garden, etc. The Park boasts flourishing woods reflected on the surrounding lake and is dotted with green fields and smoking curling upwards, forming the beauty of fields which will make tourists return to nature.